

Welcome to the 68th edition of Speedway Australia's Speed eNews.

This weekly communication serves to keep clubs and organisations up to date on current events, handy tips to improve competition and safety, as well as any changes that may be taking place within the sport.

Please make sure that if you are the contact receiving this information for your organisation that you pass the information on to the rest of your committee as to keep them in the loop. You are also encouraged to distribute this newsletter to your members. Feel free to get in touch if you have any questions or require a copy of one of the previous editions.

PREMIER ADDITION TO SPEEDWAY AUSTRALIA BOARD



David Mills from Premier Speedway (Warrnambool) is the latest stakeholder to join the Speedway Australia governance team, replacing Darren Shaddock from Murray Bridge Speedway. The General Manager of the world-class facility for the last 10 years, David brings us a wealth of experience hosting the Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic, World Series Sprintcars and numerous national and state title events.

We know that David will be an exciting addition to the Speedway Australia leadership group, and we look forward to him getting his feet under the table at our next Board meeting in September.

The full Speedway Australia Board now comprises of the following industry personalities, with an independent to provide the necessary balance: -

Guy Thompson – Chairman, Latrobe & Hobart Speedway's + ASPA

Damien McKern - Vice Chairman, Independent Director

Gavin Migro – Perth Motorplex

John Kelly – Archerfield Speedway, Brisbane

Greg Lynd – CEO of Speedway Sedans Australia

Darren Cassidy – President of Racing Sedans Australia

Mark Cooper - Speedcars Australia Delegate

Gary Winterbottom – Sprintcar Control Council of Australia Delegate

David Mills - Premier Speedway, Warrnambool







NATIONAL SAFETY CONFERENCE ACHIEVES AIMS



Sunday 23 June saw the Speedway Australia Safety Committee hosting a National Safety Conference, with delegates from every recognised track and divisional body invited to attend. Just over 60 people made the effort to be a part of the discussions, which we greatly appreciate.

The Safety Committee includes a number of members who have been a part of the group for many years, with Speedway Australia Chairman Guy Thompson part of the committee since its inception in 2007. He is joined by two more current board members in Greg Lynd (CEO of Speedway Sedans Australia) and Darren Cassidy (President of Racing Sedans Australia).

WA constructor and Australian Speedway Hall of Famer Geoff Murphy is joined by fellow West Australian Jody Crombie who has extensive technical experience in Speedcars and is the Senior Vice President of the WA Speedcar Drivers Assn.

Damien Wise is another long-serving safety committee member flying the flag for Queensland, with two newcomers from New South Wales in Sprintcar Control Council of Australia Executive Officer Wayne Baines and successful engineer/competitor Chris Street.

There was robust and fruitful discussion around a number of topics that require input from the Safety Committee before decisions are made on any future new rules or policies. These topics included seatbelt life, helmet standards, window nets, concussion, infield tyres, a heat policy and the minimum standards for medical assistance at Speedway Australia race meetings.

We were also able to tap into the knowledge and products of Revolution Racegear, who kindly provided us with a variety of personal safety equipment to inspect and discuss. This proved to be extremely handy over the course of the entire weekend and we are grateful for their ongoing support.

Where to now? The feedback from all participants was collated, and the next step is for the committee is to meet again in August to finalise the recommendations to the Speedway Australia Board – and where applicable the relevant divisional body.

SPEEDWAY AUSTRALIA CONTACTS

Please see below for the relevant contacts for all your Speedway Australia requirements.

General Enquiries	08 8139 0777	or	admin@speedwayaustralia.net.au
Tim Savell	General Manager		tim@speedwayaustralia.net.au
James Hadley	Youth Development Offi	cer	james@speedwayaustralia.net.au
Liz Weaver	Track & Safety Dev. Office	cer	liz@speedwayaustralia.net.au
Adam Brook	Sport Development Office	cer	adam@speedwayaustralia.net.au
Ross Kirby	Sport Development Office	cer	ross@speedwayaustralia.net.au
Kirsten Knox	Licensing & Operations /	Admin.	kirsten@speedwayaustralia.net.au
Robin Pearce	Accounts		accounts@speedwayaustralia.net.au
Angela Warren	Office Administrator		angela@speedwayaustralia.net.au



